Springfield is a city in Effingham County, Georgia, United States. The population was 2,852 at the 2010 census,[5] up from 1,821 in 2000. The city is the county seat of Effingham County. Springfield is part of the Savannah Metropolitan Statistical Area.

Springfield was established in 1799, and most likely was named after a plantation.[7] The Georgia General Assembly incorporated Springfield in 1838.[8]

Springfield is located in central Effingham County at 32°22′6″N 81°18′37″W (32.368240, -81.310152).[9] Georgia State Route 21 bypasses the city center on the west, while Route 119 passes closer to the center of town. Via GA 21 it is 26 miles (42 km) south to Savannah and 33 miles (53 km) northwest to Sylvania, while GA 119 leads southwest 5 miles (8 km) to Guyton and north 12 miles (19 km) to the South Carolina border.

According to the United States Census Bureau, Springfield has a total area of 2.7 square miles (7.1 km2), all land.[5]


Scroll to Top